30 Days of Me: Day 23

Day 23- Something you crave for a lot

I have weird cravings.  I’ve learnt to listen to them as I’ve got older, in order to give my body what it wants and needs.

Sometimes it craves things I don’t even like, because it needs them.  Whenever my anaemia flares up, I know because I start craving liver and bacon.  Which is stupid because I HATE liver and bacon.  But liver and bacon is full of iron.  If I up my iron intake, by having some red meat, or getting stuck into something with lots of spinach, then the craving goes away.  Thank God I don’t have to actually EAT liver and bacon.

I crave salt when I feel nauseous.  Someone told me it’s because the body lacks minerals.

Sometimes I crave sensations.  Like crunchy, or creamy, or colours.  Something green.  Something orange.

I read about synaesthesia and had a lot of lighbulbs go off in my head, because my senses are mingled like that.  I can taste textures and colours, and sounds sometimes have smells.  I know, weird huh?  I can also see different shades of red and yellow that other people can’t see.

I was vegetarian for a lot of years.  But then one day I was at a pub with friends and a guy sitting at the table beside us was eating a steak, and I got really weird about it, quivering and thinking that I wanted to steal it, or mug him for it.  I realised that vegetarianism is not for me.  I don’t eat a lot of meat, but I have to have some in my life.

Do you have weird or distinctive cravings?  Share in the comments!

October 10, 2010. 30 days of me, Meme.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

  • The History of Sleepydumpling

  • Blogs I Dig

