30 Days of Me: Day 13

Day 13- A letter to someone who has hurt you recently

Do you know what?  Nobody has hurt me recently.  I don’t allow people to hurt me any more.  I used to, oh boy I used to.  I hated myself so much, and felt so worthless, that I walked through life with my head bowed and my gaze averted, my shoulders slumped and voice low.  And I invited people to hate me as much as I hate myself.  I didn’t know I was doing it, but by hating myself, I was sending out the message to the world that it’s ok to treat me badly, that’s all I deserve.  The message was “I hate myself so you may as well too.”

I don’t believe that any more.  Through a whole bunch of methods, I found my confidence, learnt how to improve my self esteem, and have learned to love myself.  I rock!  I’m not perfect, but I am awesome.  And to anyone who doesn’t agree… FUCK YOU!  I don’t need people to agree, I don’t need people to like me, I don’t need people to build me up.  I already get all of that from myself.  Though I do demand they treat me with basic respect and fairness.

However, when people do like me, when people do think I’m awesome, when people do take the time to build me up… it’s a wonderful extra blessing.  It’s a gift and I appreciate it as such.  And those people can stay in my life.

Don’t let people hurt you.  Don’t let them judge you.  Look for what’s right and wrong within yourself, live to be someone that YOU are proud of, and value those that come along for the ride.

September 28, 2010. 30 days of me, Meme, self esteem.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

  • The History of Sleepydumpling

  • Blogs I Dig

