30 Days of Me: Day 9

Day 09- Something you’re proud of in the past few days

Well, it’s a bit more than a few days.  Two weeks ago I gave my first paper at a conference.  I attended the Australian Fat Studies: A Critical Dialogue conference at Macquarie University in Sydney, and gave a paper on the first day, entitled Collateral Damage in the War on Obesity.

It was also the first time that I had EVER spoken about that time in my life and my experiences with suicide.

I was very nervous, and my slide show didn’t work properly on the teeny-tiny laptop that we had, but I don’t think it mattered.  I gave my paper, and I managed to convey the feelings and the importance of the message.

Considering not too many years ago I would have never spoken in public, let alone given a paper on such a personal subject, I’m pretty damn proud of myself.

September 24, 2010. 30 days of me, Meme.

2 Comments

  1. sweetnfat replied:

    It’s hard to think that you, at any point, might not have had the confidence to do something. Thank you so much for having the courage to share your insights and experiences on your blogs. They’ve been so important to me for the past year or so, dealing with my own depression. I’m so glad to have “met” you, even if it’s just reading your words. You speak, having been through the darkness before, and I thank you for it. You should be very, very proud.

    • sleepydumpling replied:

      Thank you so much. Just knowing that someone out there appreciates what I do, and understands where I’ve been, means a whole lot.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

  • The History of Sleepydumpling

  • Blogs I Dig

