30 Days of Me: Day 7

Day 07- A picture of someone/something that has the biggest impact on you

This one is EASY PEASY.

Photobucket

This is my dear friend Ian.  I met him when I was 17, a screwed up country kid from a messed up home who was terrified of men.  All the men I knew were drunks or beat the shit out of women or were manipulative bastards… or all of the above.  Ian was funny and kind and smart and stood up for what was the right thing, even if it was tough on him personally or put him in an uncomfortable place.  I remember I thought he was the wisest man on earth.  He was 27!

I am not sure what would have happened to me if I hadn’t learnt from him that there were men that could be trusted, that wouldn’t hurt women.  I probably would have ended up in a string of fucked up violent relationships and brought some poor kids into that too.

Through Ian the world opened up for that screwed up country kid.  I experienced new music, movies, books and ideas.  I learnt that I wasn’t some horrible nothing that nobody cared about.  And food… oh the food this man introduced me to!  I still dream about his Canadian cherry cheesecake.  I haven’t tasted it for about 18 years, but I still remember that divine taste like it was yesterday.

One of my favourite things about Ian is that he knows how to argue properly.  He taught me that two people could get right into a debate, really argue over a topic, without ever losing respect for the other just because they disagree.  I love arguing with Ian, even though sometimes we both do a turnaround and find ourselves arguing for what we were arguing against in the first place.  The subject doesn’t matter, it’s the sport of the debate that matters.  I know our arguing has driven other people nuts in the past, but we both love it.

The photo above was taken in 2007 when I went to Canada, and saw Ian for the first time in 13 years.  He went back to Canada but we’d kept in touch all that time, so there was no question that when I decided to go to the US for three months, I had to take a jaunt up to British Columbia to see him too.  It was like that 13 years didn’t exist and we were picking up from where we left off.  And look at the fucking paradise he lives in!  Look at those mountains behind him, I swear, it’s the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen.  I can’t wait to head back to see him, and his lovely wife Kera, again in the not too distant future.

I love you to bits Big Canadian Dude – and that ain’t never gonna change.

September 23, 2010. 30 days of me, Meme.

2 Comments

  1. triberingers replied:

    Wow, this is wonderful to hear (read), I knew of your great friendship as throughout the years I’ve known you, you had mentioned Ian many a time and how cool he was.
    I’m glad you found this ‘wise’ man. 🙂

  2. ian replied:

    aww shucks!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

  • The History of Sleepydumpling

  • Blogs I Dig

